It’s incredibly frustrating to open a carefully crafted playlist on YouTube and see the dreaded message: “One or more videos have been removed from the playlist because they were removed from YouTube.” How do you remember all the videos you’ve added to your playlist?
Fortunately, there are a few ways to find the title of a deleted YouTube video. Let’s see how to see how deleted the videos were and a few ways to help when that happens in the future.
How to see the title of a deleted YouTube video
As you know, when you open a deleted video, the page doesn’t give you much information about what it was. You won’t see the video name, channel name, upload date, or anything else to help you identify it.
Fortunately, there are a few ways you can hopefully recover this information.
View deleted video titles through Google Search
As you can see, the most reliable way to see the name of a deleted video is to simply perform a Google search for its URL. Because you still have access to the URL through the playlist, you can use it to see what others on the Internet know about it.
To get started, open the playlist that contains the deleted video. Open the video you are unable to watch and you will receive the following URL:
A unique video tag is post-content content v = and before &list, so in this case you want to copy _VrsIEYZHys. Then paste this into Google search and see what happens.
Hopefully you can see what the title of the deleted video was (or perhaps the result of the image in the video thumbnail). If this yields too many results, try enclosing the video ID in quotation marks so that Google only shows the exact search results on it.
In some cases, Google may cache a copy of the page. In the example above, the video was retransmitted another video sharing site
10 video sites that are better than YouTube
, where you can view it in its entirety.
Of course, you are not always so lucky. If you find the name of the video, try using Google to see what else comes up. It is possible that someone will re-upload it to YouTube or elsewhere.
Find out which video was removed from Archive.org
You may already be familiar Archive.org, a site dedicated to preserving Internet content. It takes snapshots of websites so you can see what they looked like at a certain point in the past.
While the service may not be able to archive every YouTube page, it is possible that it saved a copy of the video page you were interested in before deleting it. To check, go to Internet Archive Wayback Machine and enter the URL of the video you want to review.
Make sure you delete the rest of the guest information, such as playlist codes. So if you have:
Enter this instead:
Once you have entered the URL, you will see if it has been saved by the service Saved X times in between certain dates. Click on one of the calendar dates at the bottom to see what the page looked like at the time. If one date doesn’t work, try another.
For most YouTube videos, Archive.org does not record the actual video, so you cannot watch it. However, as long as it archives the page, you will see the title, channel, submission date, and even a description. As above, try using this information to see if you can find the video elsewhere.
For best results, use this method if the video was available on YouTube for some time. Videos that were removed quickly after upload probably didn’t have time to archive.
Why are videos removed from YouTube?
Unfortunately, YouTube videos are not available all the time for several reasons. These include:
- The owner makes them private: Private videos are still available on YouTube, but are only available to owners and people they specifically invite. Channels often make videos private when they don’t want people to watch them anymore, but also don’t want to delete the video and lose related statistics.
- Owner will delete video: Sometimes a channel owner will delete a video in cases where they need to re-upload a copy with corrections or additional edits.
- Channel no longer exists: If a channel owner deletes their account or has terminated it due to a violation of YouTube’s policies, all of its videos will be lost.
- Video received a copyright claim: If a video contains large amounts of copyrighted content, the intellectual property owner may claim and possibly disable the video.
- Video contains inappropriate content: In some cases, YouTube will remove a video if it violates the site’s terms of service. This can happen with clear material or video that contains illegal content.
How to avoid losing YouTube videos in the future
Of course, there is no way to prevent a channel from deleting its own video. However, you can take a few steps to make it easier to remember if your video is deleted.
Add notes to playlist videos
One method for this requires the YouTube feature, which allows you to add your own notes to videos buried behind multiple menus. It uses the classic YouTube interface and works from this writing, but may disappear in the future.
You can access it by opening one of your playlists on YouTube. Below the playlist title on the left you will see three dots menu button. Click here and select Playlist settings. Note that you will not see this option in your default YouTube playlists, such as watch later and I like videos.
In the resulting dialog box, click Advanced Options. This opens the classic YouTube interface with a playlist settings page. You don’t need any of the options here, so click Revoke close it.
Next, hover over the video in your playlist and click More button that appears on the right side. Care about Add / edit notes from the selection list, and YouTube provides a box where you can write your own notes for the video.
When you save a note, the page refreshes and you see your note next to the video in the playlist. Unfortunately, this note only appears in the classic playlist view, so you won’t see it in the modern YouTube interface. Still, if you take the time to do this, it can be helpful along the way.
If you don’t want to use notes, there’s a dedicated service called RecoverMy.Video so you can follow videos removed from your playlists. click on Restore now, sign in with your Google Account to take a snapshot of all the videos in your playlists.
When you return and click Restore now again, the service will tell you the names of all the videos that have been deleted in the meantime. You can even get it to email you when it restores the video.
This is a great way to track videos without having to take notes manually. You don’t have to guess what the video was anymore! Just remember to log in occasionally to update your database if you add videos to your playlists.
Easily recover deleted video titles
Now you have several ways to find out which video was removed from your YouTube playlists. It’s definitely a frustrating problem, but due to the universality of YouTube, information about its videos is usually available elsewhere.
We are focused on finding the name of the video here. But if you want to keep a copy of your YouTube videos so you can watch them even after you delete them, check back the best way to download YouTube playlists
Top 5 YouTube Playlist Uploaders to tap videos in bulk