WhatsApp and Telegram offer free unlimited messaging, great features and apps for every device. There is definitely a lot of love about these services, but not everyone has mastered their use. In fact, one confusing aspect of WhatsApp and Telegram is the check marks.
When you send a message in WhatsApp or Telegram, one or two check marks appear below it. Which then changes from gray to blue. These check marks convey useful information to you, but if you’re not sure what the check marks mean, read on to find out.
What do check marks mean on WhatsApp?
The check mark icons on WhatsApp indicate the read-receive feature, indicating whether the other party has yet received or read your message.
In WhatsApp, a gray check mark means your message has been sent but has not yet been delivered to another person. Two gray check marks mean that your message was successfully sent to another person’s phone, but they haven’t seen it yet.
Finally, when the other party has opened the conversation and seen the message, you will see two blue check marks below it.
This works a little differently in WhatsApp group chats. When all members of the group have received your message, you’ll see a double check next to it. When everyone has read the message, it changes to two blue checks.
If you want, you can even you will see the exact time your WhatsApp message was read
How to see the exact time to read your WhatsApp message
How to disable WhatsApp number receipts
By default, you can send these check marks to other people because the read receipt feature is turned on automatically. If you want to turn off reading receipts in WhatsApp, it’s easy to do.
Open WhatsApp and tap settings (which is three-point menu In the upper right corner of Android). Care about Account> Privacy and delete Read the receipts the slider stops sending them.
Just remember that if you delete the receipts you read, you won’t see them for other people either. And you can’t turn off reading assignments in group discussions.
See more tips for this type everything you need to know about WhatsApp privacy
Everything you need to know about WhatsApp privacy settings
What do the check marks mean in the telegram?
Telegram check marks also indicate how to read a message, but they work a little differently.
In the Telegram application, you will see a clock icon when the application sends your message. If successful, it will become a single check mark, indicating that your message has been successfully sent to the server. Two check marks indicate that the other person opened the conversation and saw a new message.
The biggest difference between WhatsApp and Telegram checks is that Telegram does not delivered to Status. This is because of the ability to access your Telegram account on multiple devices at once, while WhatsApp only works on one phone. As a result, the Telegram service cannot in any way know whether your message has been transferred to a specific device.
In group chats, one review still means that your message has been sent to the server. Double checking in group chats means that at least one person is reading your message, but Telegram is not following who it was.
Unfortunately, there is no way in the telegram to prevent read receipts from being disabled. This means that everyone knows if their Telegram message was read.
Why haven’t they read my post yet?
Wondering why another person hasn’t seen your post yet? This can happen for many reasons:
- If either party has read the receipts off, you will not see them.
- Because of the rare chance that another person blocked you, you don’t know if he or she will read your message.
- The other person’s phone may be turned off, in airplane mode, or suffer from a poor network connection.
- Of course, they also simply haven’t opened the message yet.
It is also possible that another person has used it this trick to read your message in secret
How to read secret messages without knowing the sender
undelivered read receipts. And if they have, you can do little about it.
Telegram and WhatsApp checks explained
Now you know how to find out if another person is reading your message on WhatsApp or Telegram. In most cases, these features are handy and allow you to confirm that another person saw your post without asking for a follow-up message.
If you use Messenger via WhatsApp and / or Telegram, here is the following how to hide the indicators you type and show in Facebook Messenger
How to hide “Writing” and “Seen” in Facebook Messenger
Photo credit: Bacho / Shutterstock
Notification of subsidiaries: By purchasing the products you recommend, you help keep your site alive. Read more.